Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Chicken Fries

Our Chicken Fries are a tempting crowd pleaser that the whole family will love! Fully-cooked, white chicken breast meat is shaped like French fries for extra crispy fun. We lightly season our breading and cook in vegetable oil until golden brown. Bake in the oven or pop in the microwave for a simple, delicious appetizer or meal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(598 Reviews) 540
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (598 reviews)
5 stars
477
4 stars
76
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
17
565 of 598(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chicken Fries
Review 1 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
txgirl
Location: TX
Customer for: 6+ years
**BEWARE - ADDICTIVE**
Date:December 9, 2012
"Oh -My -Goodness !!!
I had seen these in the Schwans book for sometime,yet never ordered them.
We are big on chicken strips in our family due to my grandmother.
When my grandmother was alive and she made home made chicken strips for every family event no one could ever get enough of them. Something about that crispy crust and juicy white meat chicken steals the heart... so i was smart enough to get her recipe.
Homemade Chicken strips and nuggets does take sometime if you want to do them right.
Most Chicken strips and nuggets you get as fast food, indoor dinning, or frozen always winds up to dry, not enough meat, mostly over breaded, and no flavor what so ever. This i guess is why people drown them in sauce.
After an injury and not being able to stand on my feet to deep fry my grandmothers favorite chicken for my family.
When the Schwans driver showed up at my door and after craving chicken strips for so long due to my injury......
I broke down and ordered a bag of them knowing i had a bottle of Ranch in the frig. just in case i would need to drown them into for extra flavor.
I popped them into the oven and when lightly golden brown i had the Ranch ready to go.
For some reason i took a bite of one first without the Ranch just to see what Schwans version would offer.
I could not believe what i was tasting, they were so full of meat, juicy, and very little crust ,yet cruncky and loaded with flavor.
I called my husband and 12 year old into the kitchen to take a bite and eat one, i watched there eyes get big, a big smile, and a ummmm come from there voice as they inhaled them.
While making another tray of them within an hour of the driver leaving the house, thank goodness i had his cell phone number and asked if he had 2 more bags on the truck, he was happy to bring them to me before he left my area.
Everyone that has came through my door has tried these Addictive Chicken Fries and they will tell you that they are Addictive and how much they love them.
Of course i do not make my grandmothers as offen anymore and all of my friends and family loves these and now they know where to order "there own ".
I do have to say tho.
Most of the time my driver pulls up the drive with - 0 -on the truck these days.
I guess the ONLY way to guarantee the freezer stays stocked with these little Addictive all time favorites is to order online and plenty of them.
I just hope Schwans never stops offering them like they have some of the other items we have came to love and have been addictive to over the years:)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bottm4UBoy
Location: New Orleans
Customer for: 1-3 years
Premium Chicken Fries - Crunchy, Convieient, Yummy
Date:January 8, 2009
"These Schwan Chicken Fries are wonderful. Once you start on them you can’t quit. I bake them longer than what the package states in the convection oven and they come out crunchy, tasty and not a bit greasy! They come in a resealable to keep them fresh, but you will not keep them around for long. You are going to want to gobble them up quickly. They are great for dipping in ketchup, mustard, ranch or any dip. They are great as a meal or for an appetizer and are much better than what you would find in any restaurant. I have ordered these the most of any item I have ordered from Schwan. They are a personal favorite of mine. I am getting ready to order 2 more boxes. We just can't get enough of them! Kids & adults will love these! They are wonderful! They are premium & top of the line. They taste great, are high quality and are conveniently delivered to your door by a friendly delivery driver. Bake them longer than the directions state if you like them extra crispy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snickerdoodle88
Location: Grand Jct. Co
Customer for: 1-3 years
Far above your average chicken nugget!
Date:March 11, 2008
"I am a wife and mother of three. Our life tends to be very hectic like most these days. I originally purchased chicken fries to be a main course of a quick meal. There are a lot of nights where our family is rushed and to be able to enjoy dinner together as a family we need something that cooks fast and great taste is a wonderful, added bonus. The first time I tried Schwans Chicken Fries I was amazed how wonderful their flavor was. Store bought chicken nuggets have nothing on these. I believe these to be better than restaurant nuggets also. I have not found any chicken fry, finger or nugget that compares to these. They cook up just right in the oven. Not too soft but not too crisp. They have a wonderful flavor . There is just not one thing I can think of that I do not like about this product. This product has became a staple in my house. I know that I can create a fast meal that tastes great that everyone in my family will love."
Review 4 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MitziB
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Customer for: 1-6 months
Chicken Fries, a Miller Favorite
Date:March 11, 2008
"Being a mother of six very active children can really keep me running from morning until night! Many a day I find myself running from sports, music, student council, shopping, doctors, you name it. My childrens school had a fund raiser, and with my schedule I thought it would be great to try some quick meals since I had heard that Schwan was so tasty! Well, I'll tell you, one night after a crazy day, I popped these yummy chicken fries in the oven, and "wa-la", they didn't last more than 5 minutes! You might say, well, you have a big family that's why they didn't last. Well, you don't know my picky kids! To make a long story short, chicken fries have become a staple in my freezer! I've even cooked up a few and chopped them up and added them to my salad....YUM! Well, there you have it, my Chicken Fry story and how they became a hit in the Miller home!"
Review 5 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SheShe
Location: Mason, OH
Customer for: 1-6 months
Finger Licking Good
Date:November 10, 2009
"By far, this is the best chicken product I've tried from Schwan's. First, I simply baked it in the oven for 15-16 minutes. I was worried that the directions didn't say to turn them, but let's face it. I hate when I have to turn skinny items that are hard to grab. So, I didn't turn them and it didn't matter. They were evenly cooked through. The side on the pan was no crispier than the side that wasn't touching the pan. The chicken was moist and lean. The breading was crispy but didn't have much flavor, but let's face it. It's a chicken finger. It's made for dunking! So, grab your favorite dipping sauce (e.g. ranch dressing, bbq sauce, or just ketchup), and a dozen fingers and dunk away. The breading does crumble off onto your fingers so be ready for a licking! I imagine these are a great hit with children."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momto2teens
Location: Outside Denver, CO
Customer for: 1-6 months
Need more stars!
Date:May 19, 2012
"Ok, so these are PROBABLY more for the younger set than us older folk....BUT, they are without a doubt, one of my family's FAV Schwan's items! One son (19) prefers the microwave prep, one son (18) prefers the oven prep, hubby and I go back and forth between oven and toaster oven. (The puppy doesn't seem to have a preference, but he LOVES it when mommy can't finish hers and he gets to enjoy them, too!) Everyone else follows the directions on the bag and LOVES them! I, however, prefer mine a bit crispier, so I will cook them an extra few mins to my preference. I do turn mine about half-way through cooking time, but they are just as fine if you don't."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
twinzmommy
Location: Middletown, Delaware
Customer for: 1-3 years
these are great!
Date:July 10, 2008
"I originally bought these for my 3 year old picky-eater twins....what a great choice I made! They both love them and I've found many uses for them. They love to "dip" them in various dipping sauces/dressings (ranch is their favorite, honey mustard is mine!) And because they are easily heated and great tasting in the microwave, I can send some in my son's lunch box for school. I've also used them as "finger" foods for casual get-togethers. I also love to cut them up and toss them on top of a salad for lunch/dinner. And don't forget to try putting some in a soft tortilla wrap with some lettuce, tomato, cheese, etc......The possibilities are endless!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GreatValleyDC
Location: Vermont
Customer for: 4-6 years
Simple & Delicious
Date:April 18, 2008
"Running an in-home daycare, it can be challenging to find something all of the kids will eat. Chicken Fries fit this bill. Not only do all of the kids love the taste of them, they are a healthy choice for lunch or dinner.
The shape makes it easy for the children to dip them into their favorite sauce. Preparation is a breeze - throw them in the oven and in 15 minutes they're done and they're crispy. My guys hate soggy chicken.
Chicken Fries are a great value - the amount in one box will easily last me until the next delivery day if not longer. They will continue to be a regular item on my order."
Review 9 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
curlytop
Location: Theodosia MO
Customer for: 6+ years
Teen Fave
Date:March 11, 2008
"Chicken fries were an experiment that really worked! My husband & I own a business that keeps us on the go and dinner is often late in the evening when our teenage boys are nearly starved. I tried the chicken fries thinking they would be quick, easy and hopefully tasty. They were an instant hit! Now the only problem is fixing enough to satisfy both boys and the rest of the family! While we were away at dinner recently, the boys had a chicken fries eating contest. They managed to eat 1 full package and 1/2 of another! I would have to say the chicken fries are a huge hit at our house!"
Review 10 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Staco
Location: Blaine, MN
Customer for: 6+ years
Flat out addicting!
Date:April 15, 2014
"I bought these chicken fries for my daughter but I have to admit, the adults love them too! Not only are these a great quick dinner option, but a perfect appetizer for a party. I served them during a family party last summer and now actually give them as gifts to my nieces whenever I visit them because they love them so much (teenagers). They tell me how much they appreciate it because they cannot find anything like these and usually finish the box (which is big!) in a couple of days. These have great flavor and seasoning and should be loved by kids of all ages!"
Review 11 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DPRK
Location: Burbank, CA
Customer for: 1-6 months
Fantabulous~
Date:February 26, 2012
"These taste amazing, just like the ones served at a certain major burger chain ;) There was a slight "chicken fried steak" smell when I first baked these and I was afraid they would taste like that ( I don't like chicken fried steak at all), but no worry, they taste like one of the best mini pieces of chicken that I have ever had! I did have to turn up the oven a bit, and leave them in a little longer to get them to crisp. I have not microwaved them, and don't plan too because the crisp is what moves them from good to great! Will continue to buy this item :)"
Review 12 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
GrandmaPatti
Location: Camp Verde, AZ
Customer for: 6+ years
Grandkids love them!
Date:September 1, 2014
"I watch my granddaughter in the summer and after school and on fridays since there is no school then. The neighborhood girls love to play with my granddaughter so I feed them lunch in the summer and on fridays during the school year. The other day there were 5 pre teens at the lunch table. They were all having chicken fries. They all love them, even the picky eaters. They frequently fight if there is one or two left. I solve the quarrel by popping them into my mouth. When they know Schwans is coming they always want to make sure I am buying chicken fries."
Review 13 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meive
Location: USA, AZ
Customer for: 1-3 years
Son loves them
Date:November 25, 2012
"My three year old is a picky eater, as in will like something for two or three days and then not eat it ever again. These, he loves and will ask for twice a day, if we have them. Since he only eats three or four at a time, the bag lasts awhile.
From an adult perspective, they are good, have a nice texture, straight from the oven. I bake at 300 to keep them from over cooking.
Side-note: I have to really watch my husband he will eat them all if given the chance.
The bad: You have to watch the cook time or they become chicken crackers.
"
Review 14 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lillylavender
Location: Wisconsin
Customer for: 7-11 months
Gone in a Flash
Date:April 26, 2008
"I ordered these since my sons like chicken. I had been ordering the nuggets. The nuggets turn out good only heated in the oven.
The Chicken Fries turn out good from the oven or microwave (as long as you don't over cook them).
Easy enough for my twin 9 year old sons to make as an after-school snack. They like to dip them in ketchup. I prefer Ranch Dressing or Honey.
I had to order two bags on my last order. I wish they came in a larger quantity size.
These go fast and have a nice aroma when heating up and taste dellcious."
Review 15 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lambo
Location: Bay Area CA
Customer for: 1-3 years
Great Taste
Date:February 26, 2011
"Bought these for my picky 4-yr-old grandson and he loves them. In fact, we all do now. You get a very large bag for the price and they can either be microwaved or baked. Oven makes them nice and crispy but even putting them in the micro still has some crispness. Microwave only takes 1-2 min depending on how many you cook so it's quick and easy. If you leave them in the micro too long they get tough, maybe that's the issue the other reviewer had. Don't overcook them and they are great! Will be buying whenever I get low."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kwitch2
Location: Mesa, Az
Customer for: 6+ years
Grandma's fast food
Date:March 3, 2008
"I bought the chicken fries originally for a quick lunch for the normally home alone Grandma. I started babysitting my 3 year old great granddaughter and some of my other grandchildren every couple of weeks and started fixing the chicken fries as a quick lunch for them.
They love them so much that the first thing I hear is "Grandma can we have chicken fries?"
I now keep a bag on hand for when the kids hit the door. They are a great snack for after they come over swimming and I still use them for my quick lunch.
"
Review 17 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Siddens6
Location: East Central, Illinois
Customer for: 7-11 months
My Kids Favorite!
Date:March 23, 2009
"I ordered these because my boys are on spring break & I wanted to fix them something different for lunch. Holy Cow! They loved these! My 3 year old ate 7! and was still stealing leftovers off his cousins plate! Kids ranging from 2 to 9 were asking for 2nds & thirds. And these are perfect for dipping in ranch or bbq, or plain. I cooked them on a stone in the oven, so they only took 11 minutes. Just enough time to make some mac & cheese! We will add these to the list of old reliables we know the kids will love!"
Review 18 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FarmersWife
Location: Akron, Michigan
Customer for: 7-11 months
These are finger lickin' good
Date:March 19, 2008
"I love schwan's chicken products, these are great tasting, easy/fast to make, and my kids love them(my husband too). I use to make the chicken nuggets, which are good, but these are better. These chicken fries don't fall apart, easy for small hands to handle and taste great even with out an dipping sauce. Not greasy, good taste.....good for anyone in a hurry to feed the kids or just want chicken and fries for dinner. I think this product is a must buy for anyone with kids or husband who act like kids...."
Review 19 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JosieJo
Location: Grand Bay, Al.
Customer for: 1-3 years
GreatGrandkids Favorite
Date:April 18, 2008
"I have 3 gr grchildren, which 2 of them are old enough to eat big people food.
They are a little pickey with certain foods. I decided to order the chicken fingers and see how they like them.
WOW! they loved them. The chicken fingers are just the right size and shape for their little hands, beside they fell in love with the taste of them. One other thing, I don't have to put kethcup on their plates to get them to eat.
The adults in the house also like them. I fix french fries to go along with them.
"
Review 20 for Chicken Fries
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chickfries
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Customer for: 1-3 years
Quick and delicious lunch
Date:March 12, 2008
"Have you ever wanted a quick lunch, that was easy and delicious, but not sure what to have! Well, you have found it now! Make some chicken fries and add a salad or some mushrooms or cheese nuggets (also from schwans) and you have a meal that not only you, but your adult children, finicky or not, and your grandchildren, too will throughly enjoy! And you have only spent a very short time in the kitchen and pleased everyone! Try it, it will get you, that was really good, Mom or Dad!"
1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>